My summer job entails traveling the country, meeting new people and teaching middle school students about the different fields of STEM. I begin my adventure at the University of Maryland in College Park which is also near Washington DC.

I begin my journey on June 8 in Washington DC at a good friend of mine. Together we went to the National Mall and enjoyed each other’s company.

 June 10, marked the first day of training. Training included customer service and the ins and outs of Envision. After training a group of us went to check out the monuments. A lot of then had not seen them so it was nice to walk around.

June 11, again was full of training. After training I went again to Pennsylvania Ave to catch Pride Fest, this was the day after the tragedy that happened in Orlando, and it was great to see individuals pride and excitement even after the event. I walked the streets of the vendors and then as well walked by the White House, there was a vigil where individuals spoke of the tragedy. It was a very moving trip to DC.

June 12 was full of training and that night I enjoyed a run around campus and a trip to Cold stone.

June 14 was our final day on campus. We will head out to the University of Texas in Dallas where I look forward to welcoming the scholars.

